Have you been in a crash?
If the crash was not investigated by a law enforcement officer, state statute requires every operator of a motor vehicle involved in an crash resulting in either injury, death, or damages equal to or exceeding $1,500 to the property of any one person (including the operator) to complete and submit a confidential Driver’s Motor Vehicle Crash Report within 10 days following the crash.
Drivers involved in motor vehicle crashes where an Investigator’s Crash Report is completed by a law enforcement officer do not need to complete this report.
The cost is $13 + tax. You may obtain it in online, by mail, or in person.
- Online: NDOT.CrashReport@Nebraska.gov
- By Phone: 402-479-4645
- In Person: Highway Safety Section, 1500 Nebraska Parkway – Room 14B, Lincoln, NE
- By Mail: Call 402-479-4645 to find out the correct tax before requesting a report by mail
- Mail request to NDOT - Highway Safety Section P.O Box 94759, Lincoln, NE 68509-4759
Questions about buying a Crash Report? Call 402-479-4645
Frequently Asked Questions
When do I have to file a crash report?
If the crash was not investigated by a law enforcement officer and someone is injured or killed or has at least $1,500 in damage, then all drivers involved are required to file a Driver's Motor Vehicle Crash Report with our office within 10 days of the crash. Driver Crash Reporting website >
Who is required to file a Driver’s Motor Vehicle Crash Report?
If the crash was not investigated by a law enforcement officer, all drivers involved in a crash in which someone is injured or killed, or someone has damage equal to or exceeding $1,500 are required to file a Driver’s Motor Vehicle Crash Report with our office, no matter who is at fault, within 10 days of the occurrence.
Where do I get a Driver’s Motor Vehicle Crash Report?
The easiest way to complete a Driver's Motor Vehicle Crash Report is by filling out the form online at the Driver Crash Reporting website. You can also get a paper form from the officer that investigated your crash, the police or sheriff’s department, your insurance agent, or by calling our office at 402-479-4645.
How do I get a copy of the investigating officer’s report?
The officer’s report is public information. You may purchase a certified copy for $13.00 + TAX. To request a copy of an officer’s report send the following information:
- Crash date
- Crash location, including county
- Driver’s Name
- The request and $13.00 + tax (call 402-479-4645 to find correct tax amount) should be sent to: Highway Safety, PO Box 94759, Lincoln, NE 68509
- Investigator's Crash Report Manual for 2021 and After
- Investigator's Crash Report Overlays for 2020 and Before
Can I get a copy of the other driver’s report?
No. All driver’s reports are confidential by law.
Can the Highway Safety Section suspend a person’s driver’s license because of a crash?
Only the Department of Motor Vehicles can suspend a person’s driver’s license.