share the road

 

Motorcycle Safety Education  |  Registration Contacts

The Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has adopted as its basic motorcycle education course, the Motorcycle Safety Foundation beginning rider course entitled “MSF: Basic RiderCourse (BRC)”. This course provides for a minimum of 14 hours of motorcycle instruction with at least 4 hours of classroom instruction and at least 10 hours of actual range time riding motorcycles. The course integrates the classroom instruction and range driving, along with concepts which apply to and practiced on the range. The basic course includes the following topics:

  • Location of the controls and pre-ride procedures.
  • Balance and control of the motorcycle.
  • Riding skills and evasive maneuvers.
  • Safety equipment and procedures.
  • Effects of alcohol and drugs while operating a motorcycle.

Successful completion of any of the courses listed on the Nebraska Motorcycle Safety Education Sponsor list will allow the graduate to have the DMV examiner waive both the written and drive tests when application is made to obtain a license to operate a motorcycle. Course graduates may also be eligible for lower insurance rates. Enrollment is limited and courses often fill quickly so register early. To obtain more information or to register, contact one of the state approved beginning rider course providers from the Nebraska Motorcycle Safety Education Sponsor list. 

 

 

Motorcycle Facts

share the road infographic

  • National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) has estimates that the effectiveness of helmets in preventing fatalities is 37 percent for rider and 41 percent for passengers.
  • Unhelmeted motorcyclists are three times more likely to suffer traumatic brain injuries than helmeted riders in a crash.
  • In Nebraska, a study on hospital costs for injured motorcyclists showed a decline in total acute medical charges of 38% after the helmet law was implemented.
  • Studies show unhelmeted riders involved in crashes are less likely to have insurance and more likely to have higher hospital costs than helmeted riders in similar crashes (NHTSA).
  • All states who have weakened or repealed helmet laws have experienced an increase in fatality rates.
  • According to the May 2017 survey of 900 Nebraskans conducted by Research Associates: “75% indicated the Nebraska law requiring motorcycle helmets should be continued; 22% indicated it should be repealed; 3% had no opinion.”
  • Only 1% of licensed Nebraska motorcyclists are under the age of 21 (2016 State Data).
  • Motorcycle Helmets Associated with Lower Risk of Cervical Spine Injury: Debunking the Myth - 2010 by the American College of Surgeons

 

Motorcycle License and Law Information

In order to operate a motorcycle on the highways in Nebraska, all operators must have a Class M (motorcycle) license or Class M endorsement on a regular operator’s license. Just having a regular Class O (operators) license does not allow an individual to operate a motorcycle; Nebraska state law requires a Class M license or Class M endorsement.  Click here to view the Nebraska Motorcycle Operator Manual.

 

No person shall operate a moped unless the person has a valid Class O operator’s license or a valid school/learner’s permit.

 

Protective helmets that meet the United States Department of Transportation’s (D.O.T) Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard #218 are required for all operators and passengers of a motorcycle or moped. The protective helmet must be secured properly with a chinstrap on the head of the operator or passenger while the motorcycle or moped is in motion. The helmet shall consist of lining, padding, and chinstrap and shall meet or exceed the U.S. D.O.T. 218 Standard.

 

Motorcycle/Moped License Statutes

 

Motorcycle/Moped Helmet Statutes
  • 60-6,278  Legislative findings.
  • 60-6,279  Protective helmets; required; when.
  • 60-6,280 Approved protective helmets.
  • 60-6,281 Protective helmets; conformance with federal standards; effect.
  • 60-6,282 Violation; penalty.

 

Special Rules for Motorcycles
  • 60-6,306 Nebraska Rules of the Road; applicability to person operating a motorcycle.
  • 60-6,307 Restrictions on operating a motorcycle.
  • 60-6,308 Operating a motorcycle on roadways laned for traffic; prohibited acts.

 

Special Rules for Mopeds
  • 60-6,309 Moped applicable statutes.
  • 60-6,311 Moped operator; Nebraska Rules of the Road; applicable.
  • 60-6,312 Moped; restrictions on operation.
  • 60-6,313 Operating mopeds on roadways laned for traffic; prohibited acts.

 

Motorcycle Safety Education

The Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has adopted as its basic motorcycle education course the Motorcycle Safety Foundation beginning rider course entitled “MSF: Basic Rider Course” (BRC). This course provides a minimum of 14 hours of motorcycle instruction with at least four (4) hours of classroom instruction and at least 10 hours of actual range time riding motorcycles. The course integrates the classroom instruction and the range driving such that following classroom instruction, the concepts are applied to and practiced on the range. The basic course includes the following topics:

  • Location of the controls and pre-ride procedures.
  • Balance and control of the motorcycle.
  • Riding skills and evasive maneuvers.
  • Safety equipment and procedures.
  • Effects of alcohol and drugs while operating a motorcycle.

 

Successful completion of any of the courses listed below will allow the graduate to have the DMV examiner waive both the written and drive test when application is made to obtain a license to operate a motorcycle. Course graduates may also be eligible for lower insurance rates. Enrollment is limited and courses often fill quickly, so register early. To obtain more information or to register, contact one of the state approved beginning rider course providers from the Nebraska Motorcycle Safety Education Sponsor (motorcycle rider training course) list. 

 

Motorcycle Safety Resources