Agenda For Meeting of

BOARD OF PUBLIC ROADS CLASSIFICATIONS AND STANDARDS

May 16, 2025, 9:00 a.m.

Nebraska Department of Transportation Central Headquarters Building Auditorium 1500 Nebraska Parkway, Lincoln, Nebraska

Call to Order – Chairperson

Welcome New Board Members - Kyle Anderson, Nathen Sorben & Brandon Varilek

Roll Call – Secretary

Open Meetings Act Agenda, Material provided by Board's Secretary and Sign-in Sheet – Chairperson

Changes to Published Agenda – Secretary

Minutes of November 17, 2023, Meeting

Final Status Report – 2023 Annual Certification of Program Compliance (NDOT, 93 County and 527 Municipal Certifications received, 0 County and 1 Municipal, **South Bend**, Certifications are delinquent.) (The County and Municipal filing deadline was October 31, 2023.)

Status Report – 2024 Annual Certification of Program Compliance (NDOT, 93 County and 525 Municipal Certifications received, 0 County and 3 Municipal, **Bruno, Snyder & South Bend**, Certifications are delinquent.) (The County and Municipal filing deadline was October 31, 2024.)

Consideration of Suspension of Highway Allocation funds for failure to submit the 2024 Annual Certification of Program Compliance in accordance with Neb.Rev.Stat. §§ 39-2120 & 39-2121.

9:10 a.m. Informal Hearing – NDOT request for a Relaxation of the 428 NAC 2 001.02A Note (1) and 428 NAC 2 001.02L New and Reconstructed Municipal – State Highway System, Minimum Standards, Project No. NH-83-2 (129), Leota -1st Street (NB) North Platte, C.N. 61360, on a Major Arterial/Other Principal Arterials U.S. Highway 83 on the National Highway System. Consideration of request.

Status on updating Title 428 Nebraska Administrative Code, and, in doing so, update other affected regulations and state statutes as needed – Chairperson.

Biennial election of Chairperson and Vice Chairperson, and appointment of Secretary

Other Business:

- Report on State and Federal Legislative issues
- Tentative Schedule of Meetings for 2025 and 2026

Correspondence and General Information:

20250509-Local-BPR May 9, 2025

- > Status of Board Members (All appointments have been confirmed by the Legislature) (Members serve until a successor is appointed):
 - Two (2) NDOT Members: Brandie Neemann resigned December 31, 2024, and was replaced by Nathan Sorben on March 17, 2025 (term expires November 30, 2025) & Timothy Weander (term expired November 30, 2023) was replaced by Brandon Varilek on December 1, 2023 (term expires November 30, 2027).
 - Three (3) Municipal Members: Roger Figard & Steven Rames were reappointed on March 13, 2024 (terms expire November 30, 2027) & James Litchfield (term expires November 30, 2025).
 - <u>Three (3) County Members</u>: Russell Kreachbaum was reappointed on March 13, 2024 (term expires November 30, 2027); Barbara Keegan (term expires November 30, 2025) & the Class 5, 6, 7 County Board Member Representative seat remains vacant since January 2023.
 - Three (3) Lay Members: Edward Wootton (term expires November 30, 2025); John Krager (term expired November 30, 2023) requested not to be reappointed on March 7, 2024 & was replaced by Kyle Anderson on March 17, 2025 (term expires November 30, 2027) & the Third Congressional District Lay Citizen Representative seat remains vacant since November 2020.
- Miscellaneous communication and correspondence received.

Comments from the Audience

Acknowledgement of Visitors

Next tentative meeting: June 20, 2025, 9:00 a.m., Nebraska Department of Transportation Central Headquarters Building Auditorium, 1500 Nebraska Parkway, Lincoln, Nebraska.

Adjournment

20250509-Local-BPR May 9, 2025