## Know the law and keep your kids safe.

- Children up to age eight must ride correctly secured in a federallyapproved child safety seat.
- Children ages 0-18 must ride secured in a safety belt or child safety seat.
- Children shall be buckled in a rearfacing car seat, in the back seat, until age 2.
- Buckle all children age 13and under in the back seat. Airbags can kill young children riding in the front seat.
- Buckle up each trip—every trip!

Car seats reduce the risk of fatal injury in cars by 71 percent for infants and 54 percent for toddlers. In SUVs, pickups and vans, they reduce the risk by 58 percent for infants and 59 percent for toddlers.











# PO Box 94612 Lincoln, NE 68509-4612

# BECOME A CHILD **PASSENGER** SAFETY **TECHNICIAN** IN NEBRASKA

Prevent unintentional injuries in car crashes. As a technician, you can help to make sure that every child is buckled up correctly each time they ride in the car.





#### Make a difference

Join the more than 300 child passenger safety (CPS) technicians and instructors in our state. Techs hail from hospitals, health departments, police and fire departments and safety advocates. Most of the CPS techs are volunteers and their common bond is that they care deeply about kids and their community.

CPS technicians, mostly parents and volunteers, enjoy working together in the community at events to assist families, making sure children are in the right seat and it's used correctly!

Communities need more volunteers to support the inspection stations and check-up events.

Class schedule is: typically three 8 hour days; lunch and a snack are provided; and a 4 hour check event on the last day.

Become a CPS Technician and support your local area today!

Visit us at: www.dot.nebraska.gov/safety/driving/cps/

### How to get trained

The national standardized child passenger safety technician certification course is 3-4 days long. It combines classroom instructions, and hands-on course work with car seats and vehicles. Best of all, the community safety seat check event gives you real hands-on experience and allows new techs the opportunity to demonstrate proper car seat installation and parent education.

You must attend the full training. Upon successful completion you will receive certification. Your CPS certification is good for two years and requires renewal, through CEU's and seat checks, every two years.

#### Registration

Sign up for your CPS training by registering online today at <u>cert.safekids.org</u>. Nebraska has at least four trainings across the state every year. For more information about becoming a technician, check out <u>Safe Kids Nebraska</u>.



#### Class Feedback

I had no idea there was so much to learn. Class size was great! Thank you for equipping us to keep Nebraska safe. Omaha Tech

I really liked the way this class was presented! Scottsbluff Tech

#### Why We Do This

- National certification goes from state to state.
- Support a community program that has great need and is highly visible (i.e., Safe Kids Nebraska).
- Be your agency's local resource for child passenger safety.
- Participate in and/or start a child safety seat inspection station in your community, helping neighbors, parents and caregivers.
- Help families transport children safely and understand Nebraska restraint laws.

#### Contact Us

Simera Reynolds, M.Ed. NDOT- Highway Safety Office Phone: 402-471-2017 simera.reynolds@nebraska.gov

Jason Kerkman, MPH Safe Kids Coordinator/ DHHS Phone: 402-471-8749 jason.kerkman@nebraska.gov