Nebraska’'s Updated Move-Over Law (LB 530)

Nebraska's updated move-over law took effect Sept. 3, 2025. The change comes after the
Nebraska Legislature passed, and Governor Jim Pillen signed, LB 530 earlier in the year.

What Has Changed?

Previously, the move-over law applied only to
emergency and roadside assistance vehicles on
controlled-access highways — designed for high-
speed, high-volume traffic with regulated entry
and exit points, like ramps or interchanges.

Now drivers on these highways must move over
when approaching all stopped vehicles on the
same side of the highway.

If moving into the next lane is not possible, drivers
must slow down to a safe speed and proceed with
care or as directed by authorized personnel. These
requirements do not apply if the stopped vehicle is
unoccupied and there are no individuals present in
or near the stopped vehicle.

In addition, the updated law requires drivers to
move over when approaching or passing vulnerable
road users (VRUs) on all highways. VRUs include:

* Pedestrians;

* Construction and maintenance crews;

* Bicyclists;

* People in crosswalks;

* Agricultural vehicles or equipment; and

* Other types identified in Section 25 of LB 530.

If there aren't two adjacent lanes in the same
direction, or if drivers are unable to move over,
they must slow down and drive with care.
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Other Changes in LB 530

Speeding Fines: Speeding violation fines
have increased in all categories for the
first time since 1996. Revised fines are as
follows:

 1-5 mph over: $50

* 6-10 mph over: $75

e 11-15 mph over: $125

* 16-20 mph over: $200

* 21-35 mph over: $300

36 mph or more over: $400

Reckless Driving: Driving in excess
of twice the posted speed limit shall be
evidence of reckless driving.

Lower Speed Limits When
Necessary: The Nebraska Department
of Transportation is authorized to use
digital or electronic speed limit signs to
temporarily reduce speed limits during
adverse weather and environmental
conditions — such as fog, precipitation,
dust, or smoke — as well as emergencies
and traffic congestion.

Good Life. Great Journey.
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