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2021 MADD Nebraska Court Monitoring Briefing  
 
Introduction 
MADD’s Court Monitoring Program enlists and trains volunteer court monitors to 
observe and document what happens in the courtroom during drunk driving case 
proceedings. MADD then tracks results and identify inconsistencies on how drunk 
driving cases are handled and resolved. MADD shares this information with law 
enforcement, judges, prosecutors, public defenders and, if necessary, the media, to 
help ensure appropriate actions. 
 
Studies have shown that the mere presence of a court monitor can have a positive 
effect on sentencing. Trained court monitors observe proceedings, gather data, and 
identify trends to keep the wheels of justice turning effectively and keep families safe. 
 
Goals 
The goals of MADD’s Court Monitoring Program are to enhance transparency, 
accountability and to promote appropriate sentencing within the criminal justice system 
for drunk driving cases. 
 
This is accomplished by: 

• Promoting public interest and awareness of the outcomes of criminal cases in the 
justice system 

• Compiling information on the handling of DWI/DUI cases 
• Creating relevant reports and publicize the findings 

 
A Look at Drunk Driving in Nebraska 
In 2020, 33 percent of fatal crashes were alcohol-related in Nebraska. This number is 
down slightly from the average of 35 percent of the previous four years (2016-2019). 
The number of DUI Arrests have continued to decrease every year while the Alcohol 
Related Fatal Crashes and Fatalities has varied over the years. Unfortunately, 2020 
saw an increase in both. 

Year DUI Arrests DUI Convictions Alcohol Related 
Fatal Crashes 

Alcohol Related 
Fatalities 

2013 9,343 8,703 65 70 
2014 8,617 7,576 75 78 
2015 8,199 7,136 71 81 
2016 7,311 6,594 73 81 
2017 6,877 6,203 63 71 
2018 6,827 6,210 66 77 
2019 6,412 6,186 51 58 
2020 5,424 5,314 72 63 
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County Selection 
The 6 priority counties included in the MADD Nebraska Court Monitoring Briefing were 
identified by the Nebraska Office of Highway Safety (NOHS) as having either a high 
crash rate for alcohol, speed and/or alcohol use by youth. These counties include 
Buffalo, Douglas, Hall, Lancaster, Sarpy, and Washington. 

The target population consists of offenders arrested for DUI. It is imperative that courts 
take a strong look at the effectiveness of DUI adjudication and how those actions 
contribute to the progress in reducing impaired driving fatalities and recidivism. 
Residents will benefit from a court monitoring program focused on the criminal justice 
system and sentencing outcomes. MADD Nebraska worked closely with law 
enforcement, prosecutors, court personnel, and vested partners to collect data. 
Information will illustrate trends, patterns, and behaviors surrounding impaired driving 
enforcement and prosecution.  

Quantitative Data Collection 
Court Monitoring Program data were obtained from two sources: court trial forms, 
completed by MADD Nebraska staff and volunteers, and the Nebraska Trial Courts 
Case Search System database, hereafter called Justice. CMP volunteers included 
concerned community members, college students interested in volunteering and/or 
requiring internship hours for a class, and retired adults. Data from the court trial forms 
were collected from four categories: 1) case information, 2) charges, 3) 
sanctions/sentence and 4) comments.  Examples of case information included 
defendant name, date of birth and name and location of court.  Charges recorded 
included the original charge, final charge, amended, and arresting agency.  Examples of 
sanctions/sentences imposed included jail time, fines, ignition interlock, license 
suspension/revocation, and probation. 
 
Information collected by court program monitors were verified by MADD Nebraska CMP 
staff through records accessed from Justice. This database provided a detailed record 
of each DUI case presented to the court. Case information, charges, and sanctions 
imposed were available through the Justice system. Data obtained from the Justice 
database was compared to information recorded on the court trial form to assure 
accuracy of data collection by court program monitors. 
 
Data Analysis 
Case files with Case Year 2020 were utilized for the data collection Data from closed 
and misdemeanor DUI cases with sanctions imposed were entered into Microsoft Excel 
spreadsheets for analysis. Variables of interest for this report included rulings, number 
and type of amended cases, length of case, offender age and gender, offense type, and 
sanctions imposed. Data was reported by frequencies, percentages, and averages.  
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Case Analysis for all 6 Counties: Buffalo, Douglas, Hall, Lancaster, Sarpy, and 
Washington. 
Statewide there were 5,424 DUI arrests and 5,314 DUI convictions recorded by NDOT – 
Office of Highway Safety in 2020. MADD analyzed 1,214 DUI cases that were 
sentenced in 2021. This represents 22% of the total cases. These cases were primarily 
misdemeanor charges, unless the individual was charged with a DUI 3rd .15+ or higher 
– those are considered felony offenses in the state of Nebraska.  

Adjudication Summary for the 2021 cases analyzed: 

 

 

County
Guilty to      
Original 
Charge

Not Guilty 
to Original 

Charge

Guilty to 
Amended    

DUI 

Not Guilty    
to Amended    

DUI

Plea Non 
DUI Dismissed Transferred DUI Court

Buffalo (n=205) 93 0 94 0 8 10 0 0
Douglas (n=302) 175 0 116 0 11 0 0 0

Hall (n=210) 131 0 61 0 17 1 0 0
Lancaster (n=300) 274 0 15 0 2 4 0 5

Sarpy (n=150) 83 0 63 0 3 1 0 0
Washington (n=47) 29 0 17 0 1 0 0 0

Totals (n=1,214) 785 0 366 0 42 16 0 5
n=number of cases adjudicated

65%

0%

30%

0% 4% 1%0%

Adjudication Summary for all 6 Counties

Guilty Pleas to Original Charge Not Guilty Pleas to Original Charge

Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge Not Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge

Pleas to Non DUI Charge Dismissed

DUI Court
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County Demographics 2021: 

 

 

 

County Males Females 16-20 21-29 30-39 40-49 50-59 60+
Average 

Age
Buffalo (n=205) 150 55 16 81 54 29 17 8 33
Douglas (n=302) 226 76 12 96 99 62 21 12 36

Hall (n=210) 163 47 22 82 53 24 19 10 33
Lancaster (n=300) 213 87 221 139 77 43 12 8 32

Sarpy (n=150) 117 33 7 57 39 23 15 9 36
Washington (n=47) 40 7 7 14 13 5 5 3 34

Totals (n=1,214) 909 305 285 469 335 186 89 50 34
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Average Length of Case 2021:  

County Average Length of Case (in days) 
Buffalo  165 
Douglas  153 
Hall  142 
Lancaster  187 
Sarpy  218 
Washington 139 
Average: 167 
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Amended Cases 2021: 
The total percentage of amended cases for all 6 counties was 34%. 

County Number of 
Cases 

Adjudicated 

Total 
Amended       

Cases 

Percent 
of 

Amended 
Cases 

Amended 
to a Lesser 

DUI 
Charge 

Amended 
to a 

Higher 
DUI 

Charge 

Amended 
to a Non-

DUI 
Charge 

Buffalo (n=205) 205 102 50% 0 94 8 
Douglas (n=302) 302 127 42% 113 3 11 

Hall (n=210) 210 78 37% 53 8 17 
Lancaster (n=300) 300 17 6% 15 0 2 

Sarpy (n=150) 150 66 44% 61 2 3 
Washington (n=47) 47 18 38% 16 1 1 

Totals (n=1,214) 1,214 408 34% 258 108 42 
n=number of cases analyzed      

 
 
Ignition Interlock 2021: 
Ignition interlock installation become mandatory for all convicted DUI offenders in 2013. 

County Number of Cases 
Adjudicated 

Number of DUI  
Cases Found Guilty 

Ignition 
Interlocks 
Ordered 

% of Ignition 
Interlock 
Ordered 

Buffalo (n=205) 205 187 184 98% 
Douglas (n=302) 302 291 284 98% 

Hall (n=210) 210 192 191 99% 
Lancaster (n=300) 300 294 284 97% 

Sarpy (n=150) 150 146 143 98% 
Washington (n=47) 47 46 42 91% 

Totals (n=1,214) 1,214 1,156 1,128 98% 
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County Overview Breakdown: 

The following pages breakdown each of the 6 counties in detail, showing 
Demographics, Age Range, Case Information, Adjudication Summary and Amended 
Case Information. DUI offense and sanction details are also included for each county. 
Fourteen sanctions imposed for DUI offenders for each county were recorded. The 
sanctions included: Fines, Fees, Jail, Probation, Revoked License, Impound License, 
Interlock, Victim Impact Panel, Attitudinal Dynamics, AA, Alcohol Education, Community 
Service, House Arrest and Immobilize Vehicle. This is also the first year Lancaster 
County utilized a DUI Court as an option for people with felony level DUI offenses (DUI 
3rd .15+ or higher). The following data regarding sanctions imposed in each county were 
based on data from the Justice system only. Consequently, some of the data presented, 
or lack thereof, may not be a complete representation of the sanction practices in each 
county. There may be additional sanctions included in probation orders and MADD is 
not able to access those records. 
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Buffalo County Overview 2021 
Demographics: 

Males 150 
Females 55 

 
Age Range of Offender: 

16 – 20 years 16 40 – 49 years 29 
21 – 29 years 81 50 – 59 years 17 
30 – 39 years 54 60+ years 8 
Average Age of Offender: 33 

 
Case Information: 

Cases Analyzed 205 
Adjudicated* 205 
Bench Warrant 0 
Open Cases 0 
Average Length of Case* 165 days 

*Numbers do not include Bench Warrant Cases or Open Cases 

Adjudication Summary: 
Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 93 
Not Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 0 
Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 94 
Not Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 0 
Pleas to Non DUI Charge 8 
Dismissed 10 
Transferred 0 

Amended Case Information: 

 
Non 
DUI 

DUI 
1st 

DUI 1st 
.15+ 

DUI 
2nd 

DUI 2nd 
.15+ 

DUI 
3rd 

DUI 3rd 
.15+ 

DUI 
4th 

DUI 4th 
.15+ 

DUI 1st 7         
DUI 1st .15+  67        

DUI 2nd 1 10        
DUI 2nd .15+   1 4      

DUI 3rd    1      
DUI 3rd .15+    1 2 3    

DUI 4th      2  2  
DUI 4th .15+          
DUI 5th .15+        1  



 
 

9 
 

 Buffalo County Overview page 2 
DUI 1st       DUI 1st .15+ 
Cases found guilty:  146        Cases found guilty: 12 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 
Fine $500 Fine $500 
Fees (Average) $138 Fees (Average) $158 
Jail 17 cases; 10-60 days Jail 10 cases; 2-60 days 
Probation 113 cases; 6 -15 mo.to court 

23 cases; 6-9 months 
Probation 5 cases; 9-12 mo.to court 

2 cases; 6 months 
Revoked License 144 cases; 2-6 months Revoked License 12 cases; 2 –12 months 
Interlock 144 Interlock 12 
Victim Impact Panel 129 Victim Impact Panel 7 
Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  
AA 8 AA 5 
Alcohol Education 95 Alcohol Education  
Community Service  Community Service  
House Arrest  House Arrest  
Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 2nd      DUI 2nd .15+ 
Cases found guilty: 8      Cases found guilty: 3 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 
Fine $500 Fine $1,000 
Fees (Average) $257 Fees (Average) $862 
Jail 7 cases; 10 - 230 days Jail 3 cases; 30-365 days 
Probation 3 cases; 6 -12 mo.to court 

3 cases; 12-18 months 
Probation 3 cases; 2-3 years 

Revoked License 8 cases; 2-36 months Revoked License 3 cases; 1-15 years 
Interlock 7 Interlock 3 
Victim Impact Panel 6 Victim Impact Panel 1 
Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  
AA 4 AA 1 
Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education 1 
Community Service  Community Service  
House Arrest  House Arrest  
Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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 Buffalo County Overview page 3 
DUI 3rd       DUI 3rd .15+ 
Cases found guilty: 11    Cases found guilty: 2 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 
Fine $1,000 Fine $1,000 
Fees (Average) $470 Fees (Average) $1,715 
Jail 9 cases; 1-12 months Jail 2 cases; 60 days 
Probation 6 cases; 1-4 years Probation 2 cases; 3-4 years 
Revoked License 11 cases; 2-15 years Revoked License 2 cases; 7-15 years 
Interlock 11 Interlock 2 
Victim Impact Panel 3 Victim Impact Panel  
Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  
AA 1 AA  
Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  
Community Service  Community Service  
House Arrest  House Arrest  
Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 
DUI 4th Sanctions      DUI 4th .15+ 
Cases found guilty: 3     Cases found guilty: 2 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 
Fine $2,000 Fine $0 
Fees (Average) $1,530 Fees (Average) $0 
Jail 3 cases; 2-90 days Jail 2 cases; 18 months-6 yrs 
Probation 3 cases; 12-48 months Probation 2 cases; 4 years 
Revoked License 3 cases; 15 years Revoked License 2 cases; 15 years 
Interlock 3 Interlock 2 
Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  
Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  
AA  AA  
Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  
Community Service  Community Service  
House Arrest  House Arrest  
Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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Douglas County Overview 2021 
Demographics: 

Males 226 
Females 76 

 
Age Range of Offender: 

16 – 20 years 12 40 – 49 years 62 
21 – 29 years 96 50 – 59 years 21 
30 – 39 years 99 60+ years 12 
Average Age of Offender: 36 

 
Case Information: 

Cases Analyzed 302 
Adjudicated* 302 
Bench Warrant 0 
Open Cases 0 
Average Length of Case* 153 days 

*Numbers do not include Bench Warrant Cases or Open Cases 

Adjudication Summary: 
Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 175 
Not Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 0 
Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 116 
Not Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 0 
Pleas to Non-DUI Charge 11 
Dismissed 0 
Transferred 0 

Amended Case Information: 

 
Non 
DUI 

DUI 
1st 

DUI 1st 
.15+ 

DUI 
2nd 

DUI 2nd 
.15+ 

DUI 
3rd 

DUI 3rd 
.15+ 

DUI 
4th 

DUI 4th 
.15+ 

DUI 
5th 

DUI 1st 10    1      
DUI 1st .15+ 1 40   1      

DUI 2nd  6         
DUI 2nd .15+  3 1 18       

DUI 3rd    2       
DUI 3rd .15+     1 27     

DUI 4th       1  1  
DUI 4th .15+       5 8   
DUI 5th  .15+        1   
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 Douglas County Overview page 2 
DUI 1st       DUI 1st .15+ 
Cases found guilty: 95          Cases found guilty: 37 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 
Fine $500 Fine $500 
Fees (Average) $258 Fees (Average) $205 
Jail 18 cases; 2-30 days Jail 33 cases; 2-120 days 
Probation 3 cases; 6 mo. to court 

77 cases; 6-18 months 
Probation 20 cases; 6-24 months 

Revoked License 93 cases; 1-12 months Revoked License 37 cases; 6 mo-5yrs 
Interlock 91 Interlock 37 
Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  
Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  
AA  AA  
Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  
Community Service  Community Service  
House Arrest  House Arrest  
Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 2nd      DUI 2nd .15+ 
Cases found guilty: 28      Cases found guilty: 33 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 
Fine $500 Fine $1,000 
Fees (Average) $374 Fees (Average) $378 
Jail 28 cases; 10-90 days Jail 33 cases; 2-180 days 
Probation 18 cases; 12-24 months Probation 16 cases; 1-3 years 
Revoked License 28 cases; 2-18 months Revoked License 33 cases; 1-10 years 
Interlock 48 Interlock 32 
Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  
Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  
AA 1 AA  
Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  
Community Service  Community Service  
House Arrest  House Arrest  
Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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 Douglas County Overview page 3 
DUI 3rd       DUI 3rd .15+ 
Cases found guilty: 31    Cases found guilty: 41 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 
Fine $1,000 Fine $1,000 
Fees (Average) $748 Fees (Average) $736 
Jail 30 cases; 10 -60 days Jail 38 cases; 30 days-8yrs 
Probation 30 cases; 1-4 years Probation 36 cases; 9 mo-5yrs 
Revoked License 31 cases; 18 mo-6 yrs Revoked License 41 cases; 5-15 years 
Interlock 31 Interlock 41 
Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  
Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  
AA  AA  
Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  
Community Service  Community Service  
House Arrest  House Arrest  
Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 
DUI 4th Sanctions      DUI 4th .15+ 
Cases found guilty: 15    Cases found guilty: 11 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 
Fine $2,000 Fine $2,000 
Fees (Average) $851 Fees (Average) $304 
Jail 13 cases; 90 days-3yrs Jail 10 cases; 120 days-8yrs 
Probation 14 cases; 18 mo-5yrs Probation 3 cases; 1- 5 years 
Revoked License 15 cases; 15 years Revoked License 10 cases; 15 years 
Interlock 15 Interlock 9 
Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  
Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  
AA  AA  
Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  
Community Service  Community Service  
House Arrest  House Arrest  
Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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Hall County Overview 2021 
Demographics: 

Males 163 
Females 47 

 
Age Range of Offender: 

16 – 20 years 22 40 – 49 years 24 
21 – 29 years 82 50 – 59 years 19 
30 – 39 years 53 60+ years 10 
Average Age of Offender: 33 

 
Case Information: 

Cases Analyzed 210 
Adjudicated* 210 
Bench Warrant 0 
Open Cases 0 
Average Length of Case* 142 days 

*Numbers do not include Bench Warrant Cases or Open Cases 

Adjudication Summary: 
Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 131 
Not Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 0 
Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 61 
Not Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 0 
Pleas to Non DUI Charge 17 
Dismissed 1 
Transferred 0 

 
Amended Case Information: 

 
Non 
DUI 

DUI 
1st 

DUI 1st 
.15+ 

DUI 
2nd 

DUI 2nd 
.15+ 

DUI 
3rd 

DUI 3rd 
.15+ 

DUI 
4th 

DUI 4th 
.15+ 

DUI 1st 12  7       
DUI 1st .15+ 3 33        

DUI 2nd 2 7 1  1     
DUI 2nd .15+  1 2 1      

DUI 3rd    1 1     
DUI 3rd .15+    1 1 2    

DUI 4th      1    
DUI 4th .15+     1     
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 Hall County Overview page 2 
DUI 1st       DUI 1st .15+ 
Cases found guilty:  137        Cases found guilty: 31 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 
Fine $500 Fine $500 
Fees (Average) $119 Fees (Average) $144 
Jail 37 cases; 7-60 days Jail 25 cases; 2-60 days 
Probation 76 cases; 6-18 months 

25 cases; 6-12 mo to court 
Probation 15 cases; 6-18 months 

7 cases; 6 mo. to court 
Revoked License 137 cases; 2-6 months Revoked License 31 cases; 1-12 months 
Interlock 136 Interlock 31 
Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  
Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  
AA  AA  
Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  
Community Service  Community Service  
House Arrest  House Arrest  
Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 2nd      DUI 2nd .15+ 
Cases found guilty: 9      Cases found guilty: 4 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 
Fine $500 Fine $1,000 
Fees (Average) $91 Fees (Average) $450 
Jail 8 cases; 10-90 days Jail 4 cases; 15-365 days 
Probation 4 cases; 12-24 months Probation 3 cases; 24 months 
Revoked License 9 cases; 18 months Revoked License 4 cases; 18 mo-15yrs 
Interlock 9 Interlock 4 
Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  
Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  
AA  AA  
Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  
Community Service  Community Service  
House Arrest  House Arrest  
Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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 Hall County Overview page 3 
DUI 3rd       DUI 3rd .15+ 
Cases found guilty: 5     Cases found guilty: 0 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 
Fine $1,000 Fine  
Fees (Average) $219 Fees (Average)  
Jail 5 cases; 30-120 days Jail  
Probation 4 cases; 24-60 months Probation  
Revoked License 5 cases; 4-15 years Revoked License  
Interlock 5 Interlock  
Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  
Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  
AA  AA  
Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  
Community Service  Community Service  
House Arrest  House Arrest  
Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 
DUI 4th Sanctions      DUI 4th .15+ 
Cases found guilty: 3     Cases found guilty: 1 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 
Fine $0 Fine $0 
Fees (Average) $1,370 Fees (Average) $0 
Jail 3 cases; 1-3 years Jail 1 case; 8-16 years 
Probation 1 case; 18 months Probation  
Revoked License 3 cases; 15 years Revoked License 1 case; 15 years 
Interlock 3 Interlock 1 
Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  
Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  
AA  AA  
Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  
Community Service  Community Service  
House Arrest  House Arrest  
Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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Hall County Overview page 4 
DUI 5th      DUI 5th .15+ 
Cases found guilty: 1     Cases found guilty: 1 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 
Fine $0 Fine $1,000 
Fees (Average) $0 Fees (Average) $580 
Jail 1 case; 8-16 years Jail 1 case; 3 years 
Probation  Probation  
Revoked License 1 case; 15 years Revoked License 1 case; 15 years 
Interlock 1 Interlock Y 
Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  
Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  
AA  AA  
Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  
Community Service  Community Service  
House Arrest  House Arrest  
Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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Lancaster County Overview 2021 
Demographics: 

Males 213 
Females 87 

 
Age Range of Offender: 

16 – 20 years 21 40 – 49 years 43 
21 – 29 years 139 50 – 59 years 12 
30 – 39 years 77 60+ years 8 
Average Age of Offender: 32 

 
Case Information: 

Cases Analyzed 300 
Adjudicated* 300 
Bench Warrant 0 
Open Cases 0 
Average Length of Case* 187 days 

*Numbers do not include Bench Warrant Cases or Open Cases 

Adjudication Summary: 
Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 274 
Not Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 0 
Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 15 
Not Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 0 
Pleas to Non DUI Charge 2 
Dismissed 4 
DUI Court 5 

 
Amended Case Information: 

 
Non 
DUI 

DUI 
1st 

DUI 1st 
.15+ 

DUI 
2nd 

DUI 2nd 
.15+ 

DUI 
3rd 

DUI 3rd 
.15+ 

DUI 
4th 

DUI 4th 
.15+ 

DUI 
5th 

DUI 1st 2          
DUI 1st .15+  8         

DUI 2nd           
DUI 2nd .15+   1 1       

DUI 3rd    1       
DUI 3rd .15+      4     

DUI 4th           
DUI 4th .15+           
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 Lancaster County Overview page 2 
DUI 1st       DUI 1st .15+ 
Cases found guilty: 136          Cases found guilty: 57 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 
Fine $500 Fine $500 
Fees (Average) $97 Fees (Average) $102 
Jail 10 cases; 7-60 days Jail 6 cases; 14-45 days 
Probation 6 cases; 9-12 months Probation 2 cases; 12-15 months 
Revoked License 136 cases; 2-6 months Revoked License 57 cases; 6-12 months 
Interlock 136 Interlock 57 
Victim Impact Panel 4 Victim Impact Panel 2 
Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  
AA  AA 1 
Alcohol Education 2 Alcohol Education  
Community Service  Community Service  
House Arrest 120 cases; 7-45 days House Arrest 52 cases; 2-60 days 
Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 2nd      DUI 2nd .15+ 
Cases found guilty: 32      Cases found guilty: 53 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 
Fine $500 Fine $1,000 
Fees (Average) $136 Fees (Average) $748 
Jail 2 cases; 45-60 days Jail 6 cases; 90-180 days 
Probation 1 case; 18 months Probation 45 cases; 18-24 months 
Revoked License 32 cases; 2-18 months Revoked License 53 cases; 6mo-5 years 
Interlock 32 Interlock 53 
Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel 27 
Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  
AA 2 AA  
Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  
Community Service 1 case; 240 hours Community Service  
House Arrest 29 cases; 10-90 days House Arrest 49 cases; 10-120 days 
Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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 Lancaster County Overview page 3 
DUI 3rd       DUI 3rd .15+ 
Cases found guilty: 4     Cases found guilty: 5 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 
Fine $1,000 Fine $1,000 
Fees (Average) $700 Fees (Average) $678 
Jail 4cases; 30-300 days Jail 5 cases; 30 days-2yrs 
Probation 2 cases; 2-5 years Probation 5 cases; 9-18 months 
Revoked License 4 cases; 2-15 years Revoked License 5 cases; 15 years 
Interlock 3 Interlock 3 
Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  
Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  
AA  AA  
Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  
Community Service  Community Service  
House Arrest  House Arrest  
Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 
DUI 4th Sanctions      DUI 4th .15+ 
Cases found guilty: 1     Cases found guilty: 0 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 
Fine $0 Fine  
Fees (Average) $0 Fees (Average)  
Jail 1 case; 48-96 months Jail  
Probation  Probation  
Revoked License  Revoked License  
Interlock 1 case; 15 years Interlock  
Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  
Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  
AA  AA  
Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  
Community Service  Community Service  
House Arrest  House Arrest  
Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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Lancaster County Overview page 4 
DUI 5th      DUI 5th .15+ 
Cases found guilty: 0     Cases found guilty: 1 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 
Fine  Fine $0 
Fees (Average)  Fees (Average) $0 
Jail  Jail 1 case; 3-7 years 
Probation  Probation  
Revoked License  Revoked License 1 case; 15 years 
Interlock  Interlock  
Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  
Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  
AA  AA  
Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  
Community Service  Community Service  
House Arrest  House Arrest  
Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 
*5 cases were transferred to DUI Court       
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Sarpy County Overview 2021 
Demographics: 

Males 117 
Females 33 

 
Age Range of Offender: 

16 – 20 years 7 40 – 49 years 23 
21 – 29 years 57 50 – 59 years 15 
30 – 39 years 39 60+ years 9 
Average Age of Offender: 36 

 
Case Information: 

Cases Analyzed 150 
Adjudicated* 150 
Bench Warrant 0 
Open Cases 0 
Average Length of Case* 218 days 

*Numbers do not include Bench Warrant Cases or Open Cases 

Adjudication Summary: 
Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 83 
Not Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 0 
Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 63 
Not Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 0 
 Pleas to Non DUI Charge 3 
Dismissed 1 
Transferred 0 

 
Amended Case Information: 

 
Non 
DUI 

DUI 
1st 

DUI 1st 
.15+ 

DUI 
2nd 

DUI 2nd 
.15+ 

DUI 
3rd 

DUI 3rd 
.15+ 

DUI 
4th 

DUI 4th 
.15+ 

DUI 
5th 

DUI 1st 3   2       
DUI 1st .15+  21         

DUI 2nd  3         
DUI 2nd .15+  2 2 19       

DUI 3rd           
DUI 3rd .15+     1 9     

DUI 4th           
DUI 4th .15+      1 1 2   
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 Sarpy County Overview page 2 
DUI 1st       DUI 1st .15+ 
Cases found guilty: 62          Cases found guilty: 20 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 
Fine $500 Fine $500 
Fees (Average) $182 Fees (Average) $209 
Jail 33 cases; 7-60 days Jail 18 cases; 2-45 days 
Probation 31 cases; 9-18 months Probation 8 cases; 9-15 months 
Revoked License 62 cases; 2-18 months Revoked License 20 cases; 2-12 months 
Interlock 62 Interlock 19 
Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  
Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  
AA  AA  
Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  
Community Service  Community Service 2 cases; 10-120 hours 
House Arrest  House Arrest  
Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 2nd      DUI 2nd .15+ 
Cases found guilty: 30      Cases found guilty: 14 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 
Fine $500 Fine $1,000 
Fees (Average) $325 Fees (Average) $162 
Jail 27 cases; 10-180 days Jail 14 cases; 30-180 days 
Probation 22 cases; 12-36 months Probation 6 cases; 18-36 months 
Revoked License 30 cases; 18 months Revoked License 14 cases; 18mo-15 yrs 
Interlock 30 Interlock 13 
Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  
Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  
AA 2 AA  
Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  
Community Service 1case; 240 hours Community Service  
House Arrest  House Arrest  
Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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 Sarpy County Overview page 3 
DUI 3rd       DUI 3rd .15+ 
Cases found guilty: 11    Cases found guilty: 5 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 
Fine $1,000 Fine $1,000 
Fees (Average) $677 Fees (Average) $1,194 
Jail 11 cases; 30 -365 days Jail 5 cases; 2-24 months 
Probation 10 cases; 1-5 years Probation 5 cases; 18mo-5 years 
Revoked License 11 cases; 2-15 years Revoked License 5 cases; 5-15 years 
Interlock 11 Interlock 5 
Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  
Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  
AA  AA  
Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  
Community Service 3 cases; 20-30 hours Community Service 2 cases; 4-60 hours 
House Arrest  House Arrest  
Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 
DUI 4th Sanctions      DUI 4th .15+ 
Cases found guilty: 2     Cases found guilty: 1 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 
Fine $2,000 Fine $2,000 
Fees (Average) $1,820 Fees (Average) $1,830 
Jail 2 cases; 90 days Jail 1 case; 120 days 
Probation 2 cases; 5 years Probation 1 case; 5 years 
Revoked License 2 cases; 15 years Revoked License 1 case; 15 years 
Interlock 2 Interlock 1 
Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  
Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  
AA  AA  
Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  
Community Service 2 cases; 60 hours Community Service  
House Arrest  House Arrest  
Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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Sarpy County Overview page 4 
DUI 5th      DUI 5th .15+ 
Cases found guilty: 0     Cases found guilty: 1 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 
Fine  Fine $2,000 
Fees (Average)  Fees (Average) $2,080 
Jail  Jail 1 case; 180 days 
Probation  Probation 1 case; 5 years 
Revoked License  Revoked License 1 case; 15 years 
Interlock  Interlock  
Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  
Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  
AA  AA  
Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  
Community Service  Community Service  
House Arrest  House Arrest  
Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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Washington County Overview 2021 
Demographics: 

Males 40 
Females 7 

 
Age Range of Offender: 

16 – 20 years 7 40 – 49 years 5 
21 – 29 years 14 50 – 59 years 5 
30 – 39 years 13 60+ years 3 
Average Age of Offender: 34 

 
Case Information: 

Cases Analyzed 47 
Adjudicated* 47 
Bench Warrant 0 
Open Cases 0 
Average Length of Case* 139 days 

*Numbers do not include Bench Warrant Cases or Open Cases 

Adjudication Summary: 
Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 29 
Not Guilty Pleas to Original Charge 0 
Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 17 
Not Guilty Pleas to Amended DUI Charge 0 
 Pleas to Non DUI Charge 1 
Dismissed 0 
Transferred 0 

 
Amended Case Information: 

 
Non 
DUI 

DUI 
1st 

DUI 1st 
.15+ 

DUI 
2nd 

DUI 2nd 
.15+ 

DUI 
3rd 

DUI 3rd 
.15+ 

DUI 
4th 

DUI 4th 
.15+ 

DUI 
5th 

DUI 1st 1  1        
DUI 1st .15+  13         

DUI 2nd  1         
DUI 2nd .15+           

DUI 3rd           
DUI 3rd .15+      1     

DUI 4th           
DUI 4th .15+        1   
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 Washington County Overview page 2 
DUI 1st       DUI 1st .15+ 
Cases found guilty: 31          Cases found guilty: 7 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 
Fine $500 Fine $500 
Fees (Average) $264 Fees (Average) $233 
Jail 2 cases; 7-60 days Jail 4 cases; 2-7 days 
Probation 30 cases; 6-15 months Probation 5 cases; 7-12 months 
Revoked License 31 cases; 60-180 days Revoked License 7 cases; 12 months 
Interlock 29 Interlock 7 
Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  
Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  
AA  AA  
Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  
Community Service  Community Service  
House Arrest  House Arrest  
Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 

DUI 2nd      DUI 2nd .15+ 
Cases found guilty: 3      Cases found guilty: 3 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 
Fine $500 Fine $1,000 
Fees (Average) $210 Fees (Average) $45 
Jail 2 cases; 10-45 days Jail 3 cases; 30-180 days 
Probation 2 cases; 12-24 months Probation 1 case; 12 months 
Revoked License 2 cases; 18 months Revoked License 3 cases; 18-24 months 
Interlock 302 Interlock 3 
Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  
Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  
AA  AA  
Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  
Community Service 1case; 240 hours Community Service  
House Arrest  House Arrest  
Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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 Washington County Overview page 3 
DUI 3rd       DUI 3rd .15+ 
Cases found guilty: 1     Cases found guilty: 0 

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 
Fine $1,000 Fine  
Fees (Average) $0 Fees (Average)  
Jail 1 case; 180 days Jail  
Probation  Probation  
Revoked License 1 case; 15 years Revoked License  
Interlock 1 Interlock  
Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  
Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  
AA  AA  
Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  
Community Service  Community Service  
House Arrest  House Arrest  
Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  

 
DUI 4th Sanctions      DUI 4th .15+ 
Cases found guilty: 1     Cases found guilty:  

Sanction Average/Range Sanction Average/Range 
Fine $0 Fine  
Fees (Average) $580 Fees (Average)  
Jail 1 case; 30 months Jail  
Probation 1 case; 18 months Probation  
Revoked License 1 case; 15 years Revoked License  
Interlock  Interlock  
Victim Impact Panel  Victim Impact Panel  
Attitudinal Dynamics  Attitudinal Dynamics  
AA  AA  
Alcohol Education  Alcohol Education  
Community Service  Community Service  
House Arrest  House Arrest  
Immobilize Vehicle  Immobilize Vehicle  
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Conclusion 
Nebraska continues to have strong DUI laws. While inconsistencies in the types of 
sanctions exist, overall offenders are being held accountable. Numerous factors impact 
how law enforcement, prosecutors and judges adjudicate DUI cases.  
 
Currently, there are many strong statutes and laws in place for the adjudication of DUI 
cases. An item of interest from this report is the number of cases being amended to a 
lesser DUI or a non-DUI charge. Overall, 34% of the cases analyzed were amended. 
While MADD believe an offender needs to be held accountable for each DUI offence 
they have been convicted of, this is less than the year before when 38% were amended. 
One area of concern is the high rate of offenders being sentenced to House Arrest in 
Lancaster County. When an offender receives House Arrest, they are not receiving any 
type of education or personal supervision through probation.  
 
Observations generated from this report include: 
 

• All six counties utilized Fines, Fees, Jail, Probation, Revoked License and 
Ignition Interlock consistently as sanctions for DUI offenders. Depending on the 
DUI offense, fines range from $500 - $2,000, probation ranged from 1-12 months 
(up to 5 years for DUI 4th .15+), and revoked license ranged from 60 days to 15 
years for DUI 3rd.15+ and higher cases.  
 

• Buffalo and Lancaster Counties were the two counties that sanctioned some type 
of additional education component in the form of Victim Impact Panel, AA, 
Alcohol Education and/or Attitudinal Dynamics).  

 
• Lancaster County was the main county to utilized House Arrest as a sanction. Of 

the 294 cases found guilty, 250 cases (85%) of those offenders received House 
Arrest and 61cases (20%) received probation. 
 

• Lancaster County established the Lancaster County DUI Court Program in April 
2021. Of the 12 DUI 3rd .15+ or higher DUI charges analyzed, 5 cases were 
sentenced to DUI court. Upon successfully completion of the DUI court, offenders 
will still have a misdemeanor DUI charge on their record. 

 
• Ignition Interlock was ordered for 98% of the adjudicated cases. This percentage 

has been consistent over the years. There is no way for MADD to know if the 
offender had the device installed in their car or for how long. One reason 
offenders may not have had Ignition Interlock ordered as a sanction could be 
they are not eligible per DMV. 

 
• Buffalo and Hall Counties utilized Probation to the Court primarily for DUI 1st, DUI 

1st .15+ and DUI 2nd offenses. 
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MADD will continue to analyze DUI cases and sanctions and build on this database. 
Volunteers will continue to be trained to attend court, and staff will keep talking with 
community partners and strengthening relationships. Education is a vital component of 
the Court Monitoring program. 
 


